Vegan Manderin Chicken with Asparagus

I came across this new product at Trader Joe’s the other day and I had to try it.  I used to buy the Trader Joe’s Orange Chicken when I ate meat and  I was waiting for them to come out with a vegan version and they finally did.

It was fairly quick and easy to cook.  I just popped it in the oven for 10 minutes while I heated up the sauce stove top that came along with chicken.  To the sauce, I added my own little kick- sesame seeds and red chili flakes.  When the “chicken” was finished, I tossed the chicken and sauce together.  I then deglazed the pan that I heated the sauce in with a couple of tablespoons of vegetable broth and added sliced asparagus, which I then cooked for about 3-4 minutes.  I added the cooked asparagus to the chicken.

As for the actual Trader Joe’s version of Vegan Manderin Chicken, I prefer the Gardein Manderin Crispy Chick’n instead.  I actually wouldn’t recommend buying the TJ brand.  They taste rubbery and ummmmm… gross.  hehe.

Leave a Reply

