Philippine Exposure Trip- It’s official!!!! YAY!

I just booked my ticket for the Philippines!!!  It’s official!  I can’t wait to go to the ILPS conference and travel throughout the Philippines this summer!!!! I haven’t been back since I was 23 so I’m truly excited!

This trip will definitely be an intense and emotional experience for me.  Roughing it, traveling throughout different provinces and meeting so many different people, not to mention, heading to the rice terraces.   Wow.

I can handle not showering for a couple of days and the heat, but I’m having a hard time accepting the fact that I may have to eat meat.  I’ve been researching on ways I can stay Vegan in areas where Veganism is not an option but more of a luxury .   I most likely will have to eat meat because this may be the only thing offered at the homes we will be staying in.  I’m really torn with this.  Really torn about having to most likely eat meat.

Other than that, I’m looking forward to REclaiming my roots, REinventing my life, and REdefining who I am– As a Pinay.  As a Filipina-American.  As an American. I also look forward to the knowledge, experience, and relationships that I will gain and how I can translate all those elements into the existence of my being. All this, in hopes that it will this make me a better person holistically– a better wife, teacher, colleague, community organizer, friend, daughter, and mother.

Leave a Reply

