Scott’s Crispy Tofu

One thing that I am absolutely thankful for is having supportive and caring friends who respect my vegan lifestyle.  I stopped by my bff’s house yesterday to hangout after taking an exhausting art test ( I’m currently in the process of attaining an art credential and last year I was just 5 points from passing one of the tests!!!!  I was so bummed because I couldn’t apply for my art credential last summer and teach photography this year at my school!).  Anywho, here’s a dish that her hubs cooked up for us.  It was delicious with the sauteed vegetables that they also had for me to eat : )

Ingredients:

1 package of firm tofu

1/2 cup cornstarch

1T salt

Oil

Heavy pinches garlic powder, ground pepper, coriander and dry mustard

Directions:

1.  Drain a block of extra firm tofu on paper towels for 15 minutes.  Cut into 16 pieces.
2.  In a bowl, mix 1/2 cup cornstarch, 1T salt, and heavy pinches garlic powder, ground pepper, coriander and dry mustard.
3.  Toss tofu in cornstarch mixture, knock off excess.
4.  Fry in 1/2″ of hot oil on all sides until crisp, about 2 minutes a side.  The cornstarch won’t brown too much.  It takes time to get rid of the raw starch taste.
5.  If you have peppers, you can toss slices of them in the cornstarch, too, and fry them alongside the tofu.

Thanks Scott for sharing your recipe on my blog!

Leave a Reply

